Dec 6th – 12th

Close this search box.

World Commons Week 2021


Celebrating the Commons with a Teaching the Commons Video Contest

…and the votes are in!



A big THANK YOU to all the developers of videos submitted AND to IASC members and Ostrom Workshop affiliates who participated in the voting. We hope you enjoyed the contest and that you use the videos in your teaching.

With gratitude and Happy World Commons Week 2021!

Note: This is the 4th annual World Commons Week (WCW) event 
— past years: 2018, 2019, 2020.

We hope to run another such contest next year inWorld Commons Week 2022.
It is never too early to start developing an entry!

Teaching the Commons
Video Contest

Calling all commons scholars, teachers, practitioners or students

We challenge you to produce a 3-5 minute video that communicates or teaches commons terminology, concepts or research progress to one of three different audience categories: 

  • children (primary school age), 
  • secondary (secondary/high school age), and 
  • university undergraduate and graduate students.
The call for entries closes on November 15th, 2021. To submit, use WeTransfer to send your videos to
Voting on finalists will take place on WCW 2021 week, December 6-12th, on this website.
There will be winners for each of the three categories, and a $500 prize for each thanks to the generosity of the Ostrom Workshop!
For more information, press the Open button below. 

World Commons Week Goals

Promote Knowledge​

Encourage the exchange of commons-related knowledge across the globe.

Promote Experience

Foster the mutual exchange of ideas, scholarship, and practical experience.

Celebrate Commons

Celebrate and expand the research and practice of commons and commoning.

WCW 2021 Video Contest Organizers

Charlie Schweik

Professor, University of Massachusetts, AmhersT; President Elect iasc

Kerry Judge, IASC WCW2021 Intern

Kerry Judge

Masters of Public Policy and Administration Candidate, University of Massachusetts Amherst and IASC Intern

Wesley Zebrowski

Ph.D. student in Public Affairs at Indiana University's O'Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs

Insa Theesfeld

Professor of Agricultural, Environmental and Food Policy, Institute of Agricultural and Food Sciences, Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg (Germany); President IASC

Harini Nagendra

Professor of Sustainability at Azim Premji University, Bangalore, India

Scott Shackelford

Associate Professor and Executive Director Ostrom Workshop,
Indiana University

Caren Burgermeister

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, IASC and International Coordinator, Center for Behavior, Institutions, and the Environment, Arizona State University (US)

Contact Us